ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Turbo gone.. i think?

Austin-182

ClioSport Club Member
Driving at around 70mph and a strange sound, then the car felt atrange. It sounds like a hairdryer when I put my foot down. Its still driving but doesnt have the power. Engine also sounds louder as if theres an aftermarket exhaust on it.

Any ideas anyone?

Worst part is I was driving home from filling a full tank up lol.

New2RS

ClioSport Club Member
I'm no mechanic but it sounds a bit like the exhaust manifold is damaged mate. Plenty of lads with good knowledge on here so you should have an answer soon.

Austin-182

ClioSport Club Member
Hmmm. No idea how to tell tbh.the turbo looks like its covered in oil, but im not sure if its always been like that

Clio 182
Unlikely to be turbo as you would most likely have lots of smoke out the exhaust or hear a grinding kind of noise

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Louis

I Park Like a C**t
ClioSport Club Member
Any flashing EML? Sounds like it went into limp mode, and my clio sounded like a hairdryer when misfiring.
I've no experience with boosted cars though.

Last edited:
  renault clio 1.4 16v
do a boost test... you will easily be able to locate the leak... if there is one otherwise take the inlet pipe off the turbo and see how much play there is in the core, a little up and down movement is ok and i mean a little, but there should be no axial movement

Austin-182

ClioSport Club Member
Egr stuck or knackered ? Check if the plastic pipe has come off turbo
This is whats happened! Just in the middle of doing it now. Or trying to lol...

Theres a small pipe part too which was still on the turbo. Any ideas? Like a plastic ring.