ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Rev limiter too easy to hit?

Meg 225 with cup packs.
Does anyone else hit he rev limiter in second and third a little too easily, especially on a bend. Done it twice this morning going up the slip road on to the motorway (starts on a bend). I don't know whether it's because...
a) i'm a crap driver.:eek:
b) the car is fairly effortless in them gears.
c) you don't feel like you are going as fast as you actually are.
or d) i'm a crap driver.:eek:
That's about the third or fourth time i've done this in about three weeks of ownership. I hope i haven't done any lasting damage and surely i'm not the only person to do this, so come on lets have your storys.;)

tiTTy & SV650
a or d lol you need to feel the car and its fairly obvious where you reach peak power in my opinion you hear and feel it begging for a gear change before the rev limiter

Is it when the cars still cold? Cause the rev limit is lower for about the 1st 15mins

mintblue said:
Does anyone else hit he rev limiter in second and third a little too easily, especially on a bend.

Hardly ever hit it personally, its nice and easy to feel and hear when the engine has reached its peak, power starts dropping off around 6500rpm I think so a change up at about 6250rpm is probably optimum.

Mazda 2, MX5 Mk2.5 Sport
You can hit it easy when its cold as its lower like rory said but once its warm you should be changing way before you hit the limiter as you've already gone past peak power.

Meg 225 with cup packs.
rory182 said:
a or d lol you need to feel the car and its fairly obvious where you reach peak power in my opinion you hear and feel it begging for a gear change before the rev limiter