ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

remote locking not working - can anybody hep?

Clio 172 Cup
Hi, went to lock my 172 Cup yesterday using the remote central locking as usual & nothing happened! Having to lock the car manually but then the central locking doesn't work so I have to lock both doors separately, can't lock the boot though.

I'm guessing its the battery in the key? I have a spare but the remote locking on that never worked when I bought the car so that doesn't help! I'm no expert but I've had a look at the key & it doesn't seem to come apart to change a battery?

Somebody help please as I'm possibly not insured if anything happens to the car at the moment!

Megane 225 F1
Saw a thread yesterday or the day before on this. Try disconnecting the battery in the car and then reconnecting it.

(Please make sure you have your radio code though ;) )

Clio 172 Cup
thanks Will, actually managed to prise the key apart using a chisel of all things & changed the CR1220 battery which thankfully has done the job. Just got to do the spare now...!

Martin_172

ClioSport Club Member
chisel?! all you need to do is put a screwdriver or key or something through the "loop" bit that a keyring goes and lever it so it pushes both halfs of the key a different way and it slides open

Skoda Fabia vRS
trust me, they do slide apart, i work in parts at a dealers, nobody ever knows how to open Clio style keys, we get people in almost daily needing battery changes and they cant get the thing open