ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Pay-to-drive Racing?

Swift Sport
This year I've been looking at different ways of getting into Motorsport as I've become bored of trackdays and need a new challenge. I had been talked into doing a hillclimb and sprint championship but I've since decided that if I'm going to chase my dream I need to race around a proper circuit. After speaking to several drivers in various race series the only real stumbling block I face is not having a 'pit crew' to speak of. Now I know many drivers don't have a 'team', but if I were to race I'd literally be turning up alone and would have to do my running maintenance myself. I'm no mechanic so I can image me struggling if I encountered issues. I'm now considering a pay-to-race option but I can't find any race series where I can do this? Does anyone on here know anyone who pays a team for a racing seat and how much it costs?

@Tony Hunter

Advikaz

ClioSport Club Member
Hi mate,

I've competed myself, my family have been involved in the sport for years.

There are plenty of championships where you can either pay someone/a team to run your car or pay to run in one of their cars. You will pay the price for this service mind.

What kind of budget are you looking at? Single seater or Tin tops?

Arrive & Drive is becoming increasingly popular.

Edit: I see you have an MX5, the MX5 championships have teams that will run you in one of their cars. Not all that expensive in the grand scheme of things either. One of my dads mates runs a few MX5's as it goes.

Steve

ClioSport Club Member
  ST3 8.5
Give Rodders a call he has several race cars for hire.

Ask AdamR he has tried a few series.