ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

HELP PLEASE - Rumbling noise I can't locate

Clio Sport 172 Cup
Hi People,

Newbie here appreciating the search functionality on this forum ;)
I've spent the last few hours searching about and learn't plenty but still not sure my current drama has been answered.

I have a rumbling noise I can't locate.
Car is MY 2002 RS 172 (AC) 40k Miles

Noise is evident at all speeds and doesn't appear to get louder or faster with speed. Its not a loud noise, more a dull, irritating rumble.

I originally thought the noise was coming from the drivers side front but after spending the last couple of days with it I'm not convinced anymore.:(

*Noise is evident whilst travelling along with or without the engine on.

What I've so far tried/ replaced
  • Alternator bearings (Didn't know it was making the noise with the engine off when did this).
  • Both front wheel bearings (Fun)
  • Aux Drive Belt - not kit - Just read about tensioner now
  • Swapped front wheels with rear wheels
None of the above has made any difference

My thoughts are now could try;
  • Replace both rear wheel bearings
  • Tyres could be out of shape - anyway of checking? 4 new tyres unnessasilry will hit the wallet.
  • Aux tensioner - prob not as this isn't operating when engine off and freewheeling but the noise is
  • Drive shafts, dry CV's, Gearbox?? Is gearbox still in play when freewheeling, i'm not sure?
Have I missed anything?

Ideas from those with experience would be very gratefull received. Especially which order to throw the £££ at first!

Regards,
Dan :D

Clio Sport 172 Cup