ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Clio 172 Engine Removal?? Help!!

Clio Sport 172...
Hi I am new to this forum, so first of hi to all.

I have recently purchased a Clio 172 which I plan on using for track days.
Unfortionatly there is a leak from the rocker cover, which I am led to believe to be a common fault.
After reading a bit of google I think my best option is, engine out and replace cam belt, head gasket etc etc ....

I am a complete novice but fortionatly I do have help to hand (sometimes).
But I would like to have a go at removing the engine myself. Does anybody have a step by step of how this is done??

Thanks in advance.

There is a guide on here for removal.

You will need to become a paid member to be able to view it I believe.

Although to be honest, get yourself an engine crane and you'll easily see how it is mounted to the shell when you start to remove the ancilleries like the pas pipes and clutch cable etc. 3 mounting points. One either side at the top and then the lower mount at the rear. When everything attached to the engine is removed, you can take the slack up and undo the mounts. You've nothing to worry about if you've someone there who has removed an engine before.

Clio Sport 172...
OK thankyou. My main concern is remembering where everything goes.
There looks a lot of cables :/

Removing the engine is easy and straight forward really, no tricky bits I can think of.