ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

X85 Clio race car pros and cons

Superchargered M3
Hello newbie here
So I've been looking and read a little on here about people buying an ex race Clio cup car .
And the costs of rebuilding the sadev gearbox and general maintenance of these cars.

I have a track car which I'm selling at the moment which I've spent over 2yrs building which has cost a fortune . Im Getting bored and fancy fwd maybe ...
Just looking at all the flawes in owning one .
Or I see an alternative people saying about the R26.r .
Are the ex race clios road worthy ? Can they put put on the road or not ?.
I've done a few in my charged M3 but really fancy a x85 Clio just to hit track days . It's got to be the same sort of price as the M3 ??
Trying to find specs on power to weight ratios or videos of them is difficult I find .
Not sure if I'm making the right move in selling mine?
I do like the focus RS mk2
I love the r26r
Would love a x85 Clio track car hope it's fast enough .
Keep the supercharged M3
And buy a megane Clio turbo??
My mate has just bought a 197 white Clio sport which I think is so much fun .
It's not all about bhp

Any info would be great cheers
Jaime

MK7 Golf R, Clio 182
There is a post a few down from this one about the X85's which has a bit of info on them. Might answer a few of your questions.

Advikaz

ClioSport Club Member
The box I imagine will be the main cost.

Those sadevs aren't cheap at all and it'll want servicing.

I did hear from a friend of mine that raced them that the shells weren't always up to much and that the seams on the shell can come apart if it's had a hard life.

mikekean

ClioSport Club Member
  996 C4S, 135i, E30x2