ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Scotty's 172 Project

Hi All,

I'm new to all this.

I had the great idea of picking up a cheap 172 and then doing a few bits to get it roadworthy. The aim was to drive it around the roads until next summer and get used to the car and how it drives. Then work on it uprating things as I go along and then drive it around some track sessions next summer.

Well...

I decided to take a punt and bought a 172 with the triangle lights (I now know this is a phaze 2 but excuse my ignorance. I literally had no idea about 172's except for they were quick and the first breed of the Clio Sports (after Williams type).

Here is the car:

Clio1.jpg

Clio2.jpg

You may look at the pics and think... arr it looks like a sound car. Pump the tyre up and bobs your uncle.

Oh... so wrong!

The car has no Tax or MOT and has been left since 2009. On first inspection the Tyres were all completely slick... They have been driven well beyond their legal limit & the disks were completely shot. I decided to get it moved using a transporter.

0D83AF69-BE96-44F3-807C-EED575EC1D2C-24007-00000A77E00FD9FE.jpg

Whilst getting it onto the transporter the guy ripped the front bumper off and smashed the front fog lamp. I was pretty annoyed at this and swiftly got a discount off the car.

I had the garage give the car an MOT as i knew this would flag everything i need to change to get it right. I knew about the tyres and brakes... but...