ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Need detailing advice!

Renault Clio Mk2
So I've just cleaned my car using some halfords shampoo, lambswool mitt and some microfiber cloths, cane up looking nice but I'm sure it could be better! My question is what else should I buy? I was thinking a Polish and wax to shine and protect it, but need some advice as I'm new to detailing! Here's a photo of her all shining :)
image.jpg

Gus

ClioSport Moderator
  182Turbo,DCi90
Looks nice and clean ! That red can be really rewarding when polished and waxed. Ive only hand polished once before as it truly is knackering. I would probably invest in a polishing machine but admit they can be expensive as you will probably pay around a 100 including a few pads.
If you dont want to buy a polishing machine then you could just buy this stuff:

Tar and glue remover - this will remove most of the contaminants on the paint which washing will not get rid of. the paintwork needs to be really clean otherwise you will have problems with waxing.
vp-citrus-tar-glue-500ml.jpg

http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/engin...pro-citrus-tar-and-glue-remover/prod_586.html
-----------------------
This is really useful too for decontaminating the paint but is optional.
carpro-iron-ls-500ml.jpg

http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=1352

I would stay away from a clay bar unless you are going to polish as it will induce swirl marks.

Once the car is really clean you can wax it which should hide a lot of swirls and make it really shiny. There are loads of waxes http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/wax/cat_4.html and for the price I dont think you can go wrong with :