ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Media Centre.

172 cup
I have created myself a games room/office in the attic of my house, but at the moment am using my 360 to stream video and music to my tv. I now want to put the 360 in my 'office' but still want to stream to the tv downstairs. So, as I have an old computer kicking about which is a single core pentium 4, 512mb ram, I was thinking maybe install media centre on there and use that. But, as I have never done this before was wondering a couple of things..
1) Will it need a graphics card as I think it has a really shitty card in there atm if there is one at all?
2) Will it run alright on 1/2gb ram?
3) Will the cost of new bits exceed the price of another 360?

Cheers
Stu

you need card with hdmi out idealy and one that will offload the decoding of the video from the cpu
2gb would be better

i wouldnt bother with windows media center really

+ the cost of a bluray/hd dvd drive

fulhamfcboy

ClioSport Club Member
  Laguna V6 and 19 16v
If your not too fussed about HD the cheapest and best way to get a media centre is to buy an old xbox mk1, replace the hard disk with a 300GB jobbie, and install XBMC. Apart from the lack of HD Ive still yet to see a better alternative.

BMW e46 320 Ci Sport
er...

well IMO...you need to work out if you have vga input, if you do, provided you have media centre on the pc, you should be able to set it up just ilke a monitor, if not, you need to work out what graphics card you have.

Provided you're not bothered about hd video, it should be fine as it is really...

2014 Focus Titanium