ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

im a paranoid driver help!!

dear all

here is the situation, i have only received my manual license 2 moths ago, and recently my uncle left me his new clio sport 172 (phase 2) with only 200km on the clock as his job took him overseas. (yes...i know im very very lucky). the thing is, it has taken me some time to get used to the clutch on the car, i feel that it is very vague, the contact point is way to far up (doesnt help with starting on hills, always over rev, makes me look stupid) and all pedals are amazingly light compared to other cars that i have driven. anyway, i have stalled quite a few times, find it hard to smoothly roll the car from a standstill (since revs drop to stalling point very quickly well engaged if not enough revs are given), and have done stupid things like trying to get started in 3rd gear (confusing it with 1st gear).

as you can see, i am sorta inexperienced, although i am getting better and am driving the car a lot smoother and confidently then before (havent stalled the car for nearly 3 weeks now)...i am just way way paranoid about the car, i am scared that it may not last as long due to the continuous engine and clutch strain i put it throgh, but most of all worried that power has been gradually lost. i have never thrashed the car, but go up to around 5-6000 revs in order to test the performance whenever i fall paranoid....argh!!, and yes it does feel like power has been gradually lost.

i love this car to death, and want it to remain in as new condition for as long as possible...so my question is...will this sort of driving severely hurt the car in the long term? any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!