ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Gearbox help

ph2 clio sport 172
Hi guys,

Been searching and reading for last couple of days but not been able to find anything. Basically last week or two the gear stick had excessive movement and started coming out of 2nd gear under load. I changed the dogbone mount hoping this was the cause but just before I did I started hearing a slight whine when in gear and now have no drive.

Can select every gear but as soon as I let off clutch it moves a little then stalls, sometimes after its stalled it gets stuck in that gear and have to start car again and let off clutch for car to move a little then it frees up and can go through gears again.

I'm no mechanic so a little bit lost, is it new box time or trying few things first: could low gearbox oil cause this or with the dogbone mount being worn have knocked the gear linkage out of sync ( then again it does seem to select gears fine)

Thoughts appreciated or link to thread for help as I couldn't find anything to help.

NorthloopCup

ClioSport Moderator
Remove the n/s driveshaft and look to see if it's popped the circlip out mate. You'll need to refill the box with oil though so just make sure you've got something to catch the oil.

Last edited:
  ph2 clio sport 172
Just ordered some new oil, will try this and update later, thanks for suggestion. This is the great thing about this forum always plenty of people to help and offer advice.

ph2 clio sport 172