ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Fitting new front shocks - advice please

Volvo S40
Hi all, bear with me here as I'm not an experienced mechanic 🙈

I recently acquired some cooksport springs and new cup shocks all round so am carrying out a suspension refresh on my car.

Have done the rears no worries.

Got the old shocks out of the front no problem and built the new shocks up using the cooksport springs and the old top mounts and rubber inserts as they seem like they're in decent enough condition. However, when it came to refitting one of the shocks, I couldn't get anywhere near lining up the bottom of it with the two 21mm bolt holes, even with the top strut mount attached again. The spacing is correct, it's just too low. It's like the shock needs to be manoeuvred upwards but it's already as high as it can go.

I'm pretty sure I've done up the top (17mm) nuts of the shocks as far as they will go as both shocks have the same amount of thread showing out of the top before attempting to refit to car (around 30mm). Is that correct? Or could it be that I need to compress the springs to tighten the nut further and effectively shorten the shock?

Am I missing anything really obvious here? If the shock can't go up any higher do I just need to force the brake disc & hub down until the holes line up? I've been pretty gentle with it as I don't want to f**k anything up around the driveshaft.

Thanks in advance.

Daniel

ClioSport Moderator
  Whichever has fuel
You need to get a long bar and lever the hub downwards enough to get one bolt in.

Ol’ Tarby

ClioSport Moderator
  Clio 220 Trophy
You need to get a long bar and lever the hub downwards enough to get one bolt in.
This.