ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Coilover set up guide

Clio 172 Cup
I have a set of K-Tec's Gaz Gold Coilovers

They seem to be performing pretty well, however I think that thorough a bit of tinkering I could get better handling on the track.

They came with no instructions and KTec said they have nothing. Which was rather poor considering they are adjustable and not the cheepest on the market.

Must admit at this stage I am a bit of a novice on suspension set up. Does anyone have any advice or any guides on how to set up appropriately for differing conditions.

cheers

Clio 172 Cup
- KTec fitted them

- Mark Fish then did it properly ( Camber, alignment etc ) Great job !

- But just want to play around with the setting to get the most out of them. It could be that they are perfect the way I have been using them, but really I'm keen to know the theory behind suspension set up,

- I soften them to get to the track, but want to know what is the best set up on track how much to stiffen up in certain conditions, may play around with the height adjustment etc.

Cooksport Fleet
Thats a very difficult question to answer.

Dry

Front

(FWD only) A competent driver will have the rear suspension full stiff (one click off full hard, so that the dampers are not locked causing them to f**k the seals).

Rear

The front how ever will need to be midway on the damper settings (ish). Obviously this all changes with tyres, spring rates, camber etc.

Wet

Front

Soften the fronts a couple of clicks (depending how course or fine the clicks are) e.g. with our AST (12 click range) when it rains we change from perhaps 4 clicks off hard, to 6 clicks off hard.

Rear