ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Clio 1.8t with O2m or 02j?

Clio 182
Hi guys,

This maybe somewhere but I haven’t been able to find a much detailed post about the o2m/o2j gearboxes with the BAM225 engine.

I done a Turbo conversion on my Clio 7-8 years ago. (Hit 330bhp) And I want to return to owning one but this time with a vag lump.

Once I return from travelling I want to carry out a restoration project.

Fully strip back and respray ,

Below is the idea I have but I have a question regarding transmission & wiring.
I’m a HGV technician myself so am able to carry some fabrication work . I know Fabrication Subframe to fit engine is required and custom mounts and shafts.

With the shafts, do I require to send a VAG shaft and clio shaft to company and they combine the lengths and sleeve?
Or do I require to measure what is require on the lengths of the shafts?

So my idea is to carry out a BAM 225 Conversion.

Fully forge Pistons and Rods, Supertech valves.
Uprated Inlet
Either go for a ko4 - 064 (on mk6 golf rs)
Which is good upto 360bhp
Or contemplating going Garrett turbo.

Has anyone fitted designed a tubular manifold to there BAM builds?

I would go Emerald ECU , with the wiring side of things, would I require to still use the clio Ignition / key etc, dials or Can I fit VAG dials, is it simply splicing the Engine Loom of the BAM into the Emerald ECU, and chucking the Clio loom?

In terms of transmission - I’d prefer o2m box, however I have only seen o2m fitted on a Clio engine in a Clio , and not BAM! Any links to what is required?

Anyone know if it’s been done? As O2js are not great boxes and I’d prefer a 6 speed box with reliability.
Has a 4wd been done ?