ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Brake fade?

MartinL1993

ClioSport Moderator
Recently put ds2500 pads on the front of my megane 265. They give amazing bite much better than original but especially after a track day they seem to lose all bite and show signs of fade. Is this be pads or the disks they are just the standard disks I presume? Pedal pressure is there but they just don't show signs of stopping, they clean up and then work well again but what's causing it?
Thanks

Sir Nancy Flowers

ClioSport Club Member
  M140i
Im no expert on brakes but I combined the ds2500's with Brembo High Carbons on my 182 and there is very little fade. My pedal pressure is pants due to the brake fluid needing changing but the disks could be letting you down!

or maybe its the standard fluid. If you are tracking the car, lots of people would recommend a higher boiling point fluid.

MartinL1993

ClioSport Moderator
Yeah it's like I have to wear something off as better brakes come with time and mileage it's got the standard fluid and disks so not sure if they are hc?

They're a road/track pad and will fade under heavy use. The 265 isn't exactly light either. Change the fluid first and see if that works, are your discs smooth or do they have pad deposits on them? Did you bed them in properly?

MartinL1993

ClioSport Moderator
They look quite smooth yeah didn't notice them looking any different throughout the day and no vibrations from deposits
I might try fluid as wasn't sure if it be that or disks! It's not confidence inspiring to say the least

oreA

ClioSport Club Member
  BMW M135i; Clio 172