ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Anybody still using really old hardware and software at work?

Munday

ClioSport Club Member
  RB 182, 1275GT, C220
I started a new job a couple of months ago and the pc I have been given is so old! I am a web/graphic designer and I am using an archaic 17in CRT which is just shocking for graphics work.
Brought my laptop in from home to work on (I have a widescreen Vaio with the X-black screen so perfect) and they moaned and said I have to use works equipment!

Anyone else have this problem? :(

Rav4
I started my job with a single 15" screen and a Fujitsu machine with 256 ram.

I now have dual 20" HP screens, new keyboard and mouse and a dual core HP DX with 2gig of ram, not the best of specs but much better than the rubbish I had before.

If your Sony is better, use that! Tell them to pee off

Munday

ClioSport Club Member
  RB 182, 1275GT, C220
I'm a designer and still use my 19"CRT miles better for colour than any LCD screen by far!!

The difference is that your 19in CRT is probably a high end monitor.... mine is a £50 piece of Dell sh*t lol.

They are stuck in the dark ages here... :(

MarkCup

ClioSport Club Member
I've got a nice spanking laptop here...but everyone else gets a Dell slimline desktop, with a 3.5 inch floppy, with a massive 15 inch CRT.

Poor them LOL

No way would I let them bring their own machine to work on - I couldn't police/audit what they're doing, what's installed etc. - too much of a pain in the arse.

Octy VRS
I have a Pentium III piece of s**t that cannot cope with today's demands. It takes 30 minutes to get into Outlook in the morning so I just leave it running.

BMW F31