ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Another Telephoto Lens Thread

I did a search already and found so much information on Lens that really got me going. However, all the threads are tailored to different people with different uses and different budgets (obviously), so maybe someone can help me out.

I'm still new to photography, so bear with me...

I'm finding my standard 18-55mm lens a bit limiting with its zoom functionality and want something with more range. I was thinking 70-200/300mm would be perfect.

Budget is £150ish if I don't want a tonne of ear ache from the better half.

Use would be for casual holiday and weekend snaps and for the occasional track day (I.E Oulton park BTCC in July.)

Someone at work is advising to get a Tamron lens, but after literally reading all the threads in this forum that returned results for "telephoto" I've found some other contenders.

The two I found via this forum that seem appealing are:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000V9D5LG/?tag=cliospnet01-21
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0056E49MK/?tag=cliospnet01-21

I also found this from Tamron:

http://www.jessops.com/online.store/products/66320/show.html

With the two Canon Lenses I don't understand the difference. With the Tamron Lens, I am guessing it's cheap because it's not as good?

Any help would be massively appreciated.

Tom.

2.2 bar shed.
The second Canon link you posted is a revision of the first lens, a version 2 model. Considering the price its a fairly good lens.

Clio MK3 DCI
The tamron is cheaper as its not made by Canon. I don't think you can go wrong with either. I have the Tamron lens on a Sony A550. Works great for my occasional use.

TheEvilGiraffe

South East - Essex