ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Wiring Mobius permanently as dashcam

Clio 172 Cup
Inspired by a couple of threads on here I've bought a Mobius cam to use as a dashcam. I'd like to wire it in permanently rather than having cables dangling everywhere, but I'm a complete novice when it comes to electrickery.

Could anyone that's done this very kindly explain what I need and how to do it? I've found guides for other cars but they all assume a level of electrical knowledge that I don't possess. Basically, I need someone to explain it like I'm five.

Currently I have a cam, a memory card, a USB cable that's far too short for anything, and a holder thingy. My plan is to use some black Sugru to mould the holder onto the rear view mirror and run the cable down the inside of the A-pillar for maximum stealth, but I could use some guidance to get it wired in.

I'd like it to automatically start when I turn the ignition on and stop when I turn it off.

I believe I need a longer cable of some sort, and some way of connecting it to an existing power source (possibly the cigarette lighter), and maybe a capacitor instead of the battery. But exactly what I need and how to install it is beyond my knowledge.

Help me Cliosport, you're my only hope.

Clio 172 Cup
Thanks Mike, much appreciated. I'm not kidding however when I say I'm a complete electrical novice: what's the best way to tap into the 12V feed, and what's the best way to attach the earth wire to the chassis?

BoatNonce

ClioSport Club Member
Joovuu do a 3 metre cable IIRC. Just run it down the A pillar, around the top of the foot well and plug it into the cigarette lighter.