ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Track Car dilemma

I'm currently toying with the idea of buying a car solely for track days. Will most likely stay road legal and be driven to tracks though. I have two other cars, though I may sell one in reality, but it's not like I'll be driving it as a daily in any case.

The two main candidates are a Clio 1*2, preferably track prepped or an Mx5. Ideally would spend around £2000 but could spend a bit more if needed.

What would people recommend? I'm a newbie to track days as have only done 2 previously. I'm not after setting the fastest possible times, just want to get some track experience and enjoy myself.

I've had 3 Clios before so the familiarity is appealing, but the mx5 has the bonus of being rwd. How do they fair compare reliability wise? Will rust be a big problem with a mx5?

Finding a cheap rust free MX5 is hard, whereas finding a cheap 172 is easy. i also found that plenty of clios come at least partially track prepped, whereas finding an mx5 with a cage is rare unless it's been prepped for a one make series.

I wound up with a clio, which was £2500 with new brakes with proper pads, fluid and lines, spherical topmounts and rear beam bushes and poly elsewhere with some cheap coilovers, a spare set of wheels and used A048s, cage, one bucket and a harness, momo wheel, strut braces and the interior stripped.

Since then I've fitted a BMS shifter, sold the rear brace and swapped the wheel for a suede dished OMP one, added a poly engine mount, and bought another set of wheels and put rainsports on them.

It owes me less than 3k, has done 5 trackdays so far and a few thousand road miles. Hard to get on track for less imho.