ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

engine talk

Clio mk1 rally :P
ok...

now my mk1 1.2 engine is basically dead... was told about £500 to repair.
so my idea is to get another engine... and replace.

if i get the exact same engine.. will i need to tell insurers?

and if i want to get a bigger (say 1.4/1.8 8v/16v) what are the things i need to do
(other upgrades)
do i have to register the car somehow? or what.... (im a newb)

please give as much detail as possible thanks
:)

Struggler

ClioSport Club Member
  Ph1 track 172
you would have to tell the DVLA, and get a new logbook,
and declair it on the insurance,

what part of your engines dead??

most comon engine to put in a mk1 is a valver,
but this is ALOT of work, engine, loom, gearbox, ecu,
everything

and tbh, unless the shell is in mint condition, or you have some other reason for keeping it,

it would be cheaper to buy a clio valver, when you add the labour to change an entire engine, and by calling yourself a newb, i dont suppose your going to be up for doing it yourself,

good luck tho if you decide to,

also, for a valver engine, you need a new bonnet and wings i believe,
what condition is the shell in??
has the car had any crashes??
there are a lot of valver engines in scrappies if your seriously look at doing it,

as for putting another 1.2 engine in, (or 1.4) it would be easer to just buy another one

Struggler

ClioSport Club Member
  Ph1 track 172
sorry to go on,
but has the garage accually taken the egine apart??

im guessing the quote is for the cambelt??
(im bored and nosey yes)

if so, its worth having a look before writing the engine off,

i fixed my clio when the cambelt snapped for 350