ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Drives horrible.

Clio 182
Hi Hi,
I've had my car for a few months now and the feel of the car whilst taking corners is getting worse, theres a lot of play in the steering wheel and it pulls to one side quite badly.
Im no mechanic but im guessing its something to do with the steering rack?

How much am i looking at for a new one fitted? What else should i be replacing at the same time? I've used BTM for my belts and dephaser pulley recently, anyone know what Fred charges?

Cheers.

Dan.

TheEvilGiraffe

South East - Essex
ClioSport Area Rep
Call Fred in a few days when he's back in and ask him.

Could be a slow puncture, crap tyres, knackered shocks or possibly a duff rack but why bother replacing when you don't know what's up ?

Might be a simple fix and you'll be home in no time !

Clio 182
Yeah i think i will do.
Ive had a few sets of wheels on the car now and its been terrible with all.
Whenever i buy a used car i always have issues with something on the suspension, so thats my reason for saying that.

When im having a lively drive on private roads and i hit the magical 5k revs, the cars steering is so light, i have to use a bit of strength to keep the steering wheel straight. Rather dangerous tbh!

DaveDreads

aka Philomena Cunk aka Barry Shitpeas
ClioSport Club Member
Although it can happen, steering racks don't really go wrong on these,
i'd put money on it being either track rod ends, tie rods, ball joints, wishbone bushes......or a combination of all of them.

Could be a bent subframe, but that would be unlucky.

Without getting it on a ramp and having a good luck, you'll never know.

Clio 182