ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

unbearably squeaky brakes

TT 225+
my car has recently developed a nails down the blackboard style of squeak on the breaks, i had them on new last summer so they can't be worn out. I was just wondering if there was any way to stop them squeaking other than replacing them? Thanks

I'm no mechanic - but maybe copper slip (others' call it copper grease) on the back of the pads? (i.e. on the back of the metal backing plate, against the caliper/piston. Just be sure not to get any on the friction material or discs.) You can get it from Halfords and the like. It prevents the vibration that causes the squealing.

Danith

ClioSport Club Member
  MX5 ND2/220 Trophy
cheers dude. maybe also an excuse to upgrade the pads? why would it also squeal when off the brakes but just turning in?

172 cup, Impreza P1
The squealing will more than likely be a lip that has formed on the edge of the pad on the outside of the disc. Even when you're not pressing the brake pedal the pad and disc are still touching with no pressure so the pad still vibrates with the friction.

Danith

ClioSport Club Member
  MX5 ND2/220 Trophy
You sir are a leg-end. Thanks for the explanation! Gonna take a look at these ASAP.

If I were to replace, what would you recommend (bearing in mind that I don't track the car, and don't belt it down country roads that much anymore).

I hear good things about Brembo's and DS2500 or something but they're like £120.

Anything good for midrange budgets?

172 cup, Impreza P1
Go for standard pads and discs then. More than capable for your needs.

Brembo HC discs might be cheaper than OE discs but not sure.

Danith

ClioSport Club Member