ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Thoughts on SEO

sn00p

ClioSport Club Member
  A blue one.
I've just done a small website to promote some of our products, I'm not a web designer (I'm a software engineer) so don't really know the tricks of how to optimise the content for search engines.

Has anybody got any recommendations on methods of SEO? Do these companies that offer SEO (probably in-links) work? Anybody have any experience of them or recommendations?

Cheers.

Fiesta ST-3
I don't have any personal experience but companies I have worked with spend big money on it.

My sister is currently running the website for a boot camp running from Leeds met and deals with all the SEO herself, could happily ask her for you when I see her tomorrow? Although I'm sure some of the more tech guys will be along soon!

Don't pay for links. On page SEO, blogs, articles, newsletters. PPC is also a great way to increase traffic to begin with, as it'll take months for organic traffic to begin.

Most companies will simply post hundreds of links from unrelated sites, which means nothing. Quality > quality.

If you want to do it yourself, read, read, read.

mas

MK7 GTD & Mini GP
Its not exactly a dark art, its just very time consuming. Its taken my companies website about 18 months to get to Page Rank 3.... does well with my targeted search terms.

Best thing to do from my experience, is:

1- to research keyword popularity and competition https://adwords.google.com/o/Target...&__u=1000000000&ideaRequestType=KEYWORD_IDEAS

2- Find keywords/terms which are not to heavily used but searched often by users

3- Ensure you have this term in your url... i.e www.mywebsite.co.uk/big-guns-rule