ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

MPG, seems low

iLikeDuplo

ClioSport Club Member
  Willi/182Cup/265Cup
Hi all,

Having been lurking for a while as I'm still learning fast about the car, I've noticed that I think my mpg figures might be low.

I do quite a bit of mway driving and generally save 5k+ rpm for hooning @ weekends. On the mways i tend to cruise between 75 - 85, now and again giving her a little extra poke to get past any douchebags.

I use an app + onboard computer and they both reckon that i'm averaging about 32 mpg, this seems low... the best i've had on the app is 36, is this about right? There are no mod's... it's standard and the recent emissions test for my MOT looked like the engine was running a good mixture. Is it down to my right foot? As I said, I don't drive her like she's stolen very often, only when the mood strikes.

Any wisdom would be great!

Cheers

PS I hope this is in the correct forum! :)

FF Clio 182
If it was in the twentys then i would worry but not 36. Lowest i ever got mine was 19 but i was giving it death so it is understandable. best i ever got was 48 but that was 5th gear doing about 30mph. :)

Inferno 182 & Saxo
was averaging about 36-37mpg one a slow drive from brum to cannock last night. Cleaning my throttle body out properly (taking it off) seems to have helped no end

iLikeDuplo

ClioSport Club Member
  Willi/182Cup/265Cup
I went from a 1.2 16V to a 182! Best think I have ever done. Love every minute of it. You have to pay petrol anyways so it don't bother me. Feels so much nicer than the 1.2. Feels like your driving a car not a tin can. :)