ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Lacquer not going to plan!

Iceberg Ph1
Hey people a little advice if you may.. I been doing some spraying recently on a few parts, badges etc and for the past few days when lacquering its started to produce the 'orange peel' effect, not happy, since this has never happened before and its getting on my nerves!

I been using the same halfrauds lacquer on most things and its been fine but the last few tins I have used this is started to happen, can't be down to a dodgy batch as I have tried 2 different cans :mad:

What causes this?

I'm no pro at spraying but I am no n00b either and this hasn't happened before, any pointers please, only thing I can think of is that its been rather cold recently and my cans may have gotten too cold and causing this? Possible? :approve:

Many thanks

Rob

ClioSport Moderator
My technique may not be refined, but my answer to this is.......

Put thicker coats on, I can't seem to get smooth effect with thin coats no matter how hard I try, keep spraying and it starts to look all wet, glassy and smooth, but when this happens STOP straight away! Too much, and it'll run, I find its a fine line, but there is a line!

Other than this, I'd love to know the answer to your problem!! Maybe wet flatting with something like a 2.5k or 3k paper so the surface is totally smooth?

Artic 182
Reeeaaaalllly bad weather for spraying. Get in the shed or garage with a few heaters going

Rob

ClioSport Moderator