ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

engine conversion - whats needed?

Fabia VRS Special Ed
I'm just toying with the idea of doing an engine conversion from a 1.2 to a 1.6, i'm just wondering apart from the engine...what other parts would i need?

This might seem a daft question but in this area i'm no expert lol and i don't want to price everything up that i think to find i've left something.

Regards
Liam

E36 Coupe & Mk4 Golf
By the time you will have finished, you probally would be able to buy a sport

richard691

ClioSport Club Member
  Twingo RS133 & 172
Its not worth the hassle and money m8. Buy an RS, you'll get much more enjoyment then messing about creating replicas. I had a 1.6 dynamique and spent nearly £3000 making it a 172 replica, then realised it would have been cheaper to just insure a real 172 lol. Plus you'll never be happy because you know in the back of your mind its only a replica :mad:

I've thought about that. Tbh unless the 1.6 is running ITBs etc and at 140/150bhp, like Hutchies, you're going to be far better off doing a 2.0 F4R conversion, or even buying a sport...
IMO.

i probably wont be the last to say this... lol

Fabia VRS Special Ed
I've thought about that. Tbh unless the 1.6 is running ITBs etc and at 140/150bhp, like Hutchies, you're going to be far better off doing a 2.0 F4R conversion, or even buying a sport...
IMO.

i probably wont be the last to say this... lol

That's what i was thinkin mate, i can't afford the insurance on a 2.0l so if i got a 1.6 engine in there and itb'd it up that'd be cheaper...

Nothing at the mo :(