ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Corrosion Issues?

Hi Newbie here, I have a question and seeing as the Clio discussion forum is closed I thought I would post it here (hope I got it in the right place).

Does anyone own a 172 thats 3 years old? and if you do, do you have any problems with rust?

I have just bought a 172 Cup on a 52plate and it is just 3 years old, I have in the past owned Golf VR6's and even an Old Porsche 944 Turbo and I realise the build quality on a Renault isn't as good.

When I found this car I was actually looking for a V6 Four Motion or a Scooby and my brother called me up and said he had seen a 172 Cup for sale, so on a whim I took it out for a test drive and I was blown away!

I bought it there and then, but now I find myself worrying about build issues and corrosion, so I was just wondering what kind of problems people have encounterd if any?

At the moment the car hasn't a mark on it and drives like a dream, it truly is a pocket rocket and once I hit the twisty bits I can't help but smile, has to go down as one of the best cars I have ever driven or owned.

So my only worry is the bodywork in the future, can anyone give me any info?

cheers in advance!

C

ClioSport Admin

I really dont think rust is a major issue with the mk2 172's .. or even the mk1 172'a for that matter.

Just gonna move this thread over to Exterior, probably best suited in that forum.

mitchzxr said:
Ever seen a clio with rust like a fiesta??? I haven't!!!

How much did you pay?

This is true I haven't seen a one, but saying that I would NEVER buy a fiesta lol.