Change background image
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

connecting ipod to standard renault head unit?

Discussion in 'Interior, ICE, Security, Lighting & Electrical' started by Emily, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. Emily

    Emily

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Hi

    I could do with some advice on the best or easiest ways to connect my ipod to my head unit. Firstly tho is it even possible to connect my ipod to the standard renault headunit (hope it is, although in an ideal world i would like to have a new head unit to start with, but lack of cash and all that) So anyways if its possible, how would i do this and what would i need to get? Will my stalk controls still work with any ipod setup, and in which way would i be able to select what i want to listen to, through my ipod or headunit? Any advice/suggestions appreciated.

    Thanks
    Emily
     
  2. msa197

    msa197 ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3,379
    Location:
    Reading
    Car:
    Audi A3 TDI 170 B.E.
  3. D1CKY

    D1CKY ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    5,192
    Location:
    Ecosse
  4. MarcC

    MarcC

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Car:
    Clio 182 FF/Cup Packs
    Dension Ice Link sorry i ain't got a link
     
  5. Jaff

    Jaff

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,075
    Location:
    Boaby Tapp'n aboot Glasgow
    Car:
    Mondeo TXS Bardge.
    connects2 makes an aux port for the standard HU you just plug it into the back of the unit into where the cd changer does and wite it up the glove box.
    it is about £40 and a doddle to install, the aux input just plugs into any 3.5mm earphone socket, and you work it usung the ipod, the wheel controls only working the volume(basically your cars speaker just replace you earphones)
    they also do an ipod specific one which is about £80, and i think(dont quote me) it charges and controls the ipod through the head unit controls and wheel controls.

    these only work for the tuner list radios, if you have a mk3 clio or an mk2 with an update list unit you can just buy a cable off ebay for £10 which is the same as the above mentioned aux input, but agin doe not control the ipod only channels the signal.

    i think both the tune point and denison ice link are £100+
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  6. ChrisH

    ChrisH

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Car:
    Abarth 500 Essesse
    i have one of the connects2 ipod specific adapters mentioned above for sale pm me if interested
     
  7. Emily

    Emily

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10
  8. Jaff

    Jaff

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,075
    Location:
    Boaby Tapp'n aboot Glasgow
    Car:
    Mondeo TXS Bardge.
    if you definetly have na update on then that'd do fine this one plugs into the colour coded green socket on the head units iso connector.

    or i'm sure there is a tuitorial on here of how to make one for about £7. but if your not that technicall or can be bothered withthe hastle, i'd just buy one lol
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2008
  9. Initiale

    Initiale

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    585
    Location:
    Midlands
    Car:
    SLK250 CDI
    Yep that's the one I bought, easy to fit and works quite well too.
     
  10. BioHzrd

    BioHzrd

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8,758
    Location:
    Qalat, Afghanistan
    Car:
    White Sti Hatch
    Anyone have a price for the Renault Tune point ?
     
  11. Beef-Mc

    Beef-Mc ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,099
    Location:
    East Neuk
    Do they all plug into the socket where the CD changer would be?
     
  12. Jaff

    Jaff

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,075
    Location:
    Boaby Tapp'n aboot Glasgow
    Car:
    Mondeo TXS Bardge.
    yep on the tuner list ones. its a cable for the blue changer socke to a decoder box ( this i needed to emulate the cd changers signal) with rga in on it, I mounted mine inside the dash and have it flush to the hole for the glove box light renault neglected to fit to dynamiques, its supplied with a 3.5mm to rca jack cable. but you can run any thing RCA through it, i ve a audio cable for sony ericsson mobiles hooked upto mine so i can use my mobile through it. and the supplied cable runing my computer through my hi fi lol.
    install take about £15 minuts if you have big hand like me.
    you could probably route the cable down so it emerges through your ash tray, so it is like a built in cradle

    they work well, the only problem is that if you pause using the steering wheel controls it doesn't pause the phone/mp3/ipod, it just mutes it effectively
     
  13. monkey911

    monkey911 ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    North East
    Car:
    Clio Trophy
    Just rang to enquire about this and they wanted 260 Quid to supply and fit :weary:
     
  14. Fantom

    Fantom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Wickford, Essex
    Car:
    RenaultSport 172
    Got my Renault Tune Point from Denty on here. Sure it was about £90. Send him a PM.

    I can control the i-pod through the stalk controls, it charges the i-pod also. Definitely worth getting.

    Steve
     
  15. Floridadaz

    Floridadaz

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    North east
    Car:
    Black Gold 182 FF
  16. howie p

    howie p

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Car:
    172 mk2
    how do you know whether you have a tuner or update list radio??
     
  17. Floridadaz

    Floridadaz

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    North east
    Car:
    Black Gold 182 FF
    if it is an update one it says that on the front of the unit next to the right control:smile:
     
  18. howie p

    howie p

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Car:
    172 mk2
    cheers daz. ^

    ive seen people using griffin itrips. these are powered by the ipod and tracks are controlled from the ipod also.

    a main benefit is being able to take into other peoples cars who haven't all the connections. just tune the radio into it.
     
  19. statik

    statik

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    High Wycombe
    Car:
    Clio mk2 ph2 Initiale
    I have been looking at several iPod cables for Tunerlist models. Although they all provide control via the steering wheel controls, none of them mention if track information can be displayed on the dashboard display. Do any of the iPod interfacs on the market allow this, or is it a limitation of the Tunerlist head unit?

    Thanks
    --
    Sam
     

Share This Page