ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Electric's not functioning and engine not igniting. Immobiliser issue?

Hey, Clio newbie here.

I only purchased this Clio last week and it's already broken down on me. 2 days ago, I put my key into the ignition, the dashboard lights briefly came on but the engine wouldn't turn over and then everything went down. After a while there was a clicking noise and the immobiliser light started flashing on.

After two days there's now a persistent clicking noise when you open the door and flashing of the immobiliser light when you open the door. There are also failures in the system when you try turning the lights on. Also the central locking seems to come and go, both keys have been tried.

We tried charging the battery but the meter with a fully charged reading after. Could it be the wiring from the battery or the immobiliser? Here's a video of the issue.

Cheers.

Would you like a 2nd try at that?

After you have attempted to charge the battery, will it power the headlights?

Sorry I meant to say *we tried charging the battery but the charger gave a fully charged reader after about 10 minutes. It did power the headlights after the brief charge.

PH2 172
Sorry I meant to say *we tried charging the battery but the charger gave a fully charged reader after about 10 minutes. It did power the headlights after the brief charge.

So does it still power the headlights now, though everything else is malfunctioning?

PH2 172
Erm, I didn't? How can I test if the headlights work without putting the key in ignition and putting the electric on?

The headlights are independent of the ignition switch.

Just twist the stalk switch.