ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Battery powered tools

Clio 172 Cup
I need an SDS hammer drill for some house projects and I also want an impact gun for car stuff. I've been tempted to start investing in battery powered tools instead of having to use an extension lead all the time.
So my question is, what brands should I be looking at that makes automotive and also construction tools with batteries that are universal between them?

I've seen the Ryobi tools which seem to do what I want and appear to be cheaper than Makita and Dewalt. Any other brands that I should look at?
I have no knowledge about battery tools what so ever so any advice would be great.

Clio f1 r27
You get what you pay for tbh.
All mine are dewalt, have been for the 14 year of being a chippy and never had a problem with them.

Milwaukee is another brand that cover cars as well as construction.

JP83

South Central-Oxfordshire
ClioSport Area Rep
Can't talk for the Ryobi stuff, but I started off with a Makita drill, and it's still going a good 5 years later after lots of abuse.
I followed that up with a host of other stuff (and a few more batteries so I have spares!). Impact gun, chainsaw, garden strimmer.

I rate the Ryobi stuff for home use at least. I’ve got a 1/2 impact, drill, circular saw, angle grinder that all share the same batteries very handy!

Make sure you get the biggest battery they do for the impact, it really helps! Cheap enough kit but durable too! Can’t reallt fault it. The impact is good enough for hub nuts, has 3 settings.

Brigsy

ClioSport Club Member
  T.Turbo