Change background image
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiring the TV/XBox/Tivo/Surround Sound/Blu Ray player etc etc.

Discussion in 'Technology Chat' started by mace¬, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. mace¬

    mace¬ ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,954
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Clio
    This is going to sound really dumb but how do I go about wiring it all up?

    I'll explain.

    I used to have this.
    [​IMG]

    So TiVo into the Hdmi, Xbox into the Component and DVD into the SCART.

    Now I want to get this....
    http://www.richersounds.com/product/speaker-packages/onkyo/htx22hdx/onky-htx22hdx-blk

    and add a blu ray player. How do I go about wiring it up so the speakers can be used for the TiVo and blu ray player. Do I have a problem because I've only got one HDMI slot?
     
  2. Goodj

    Goodj

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Location:
    Ely
    Car:
    Mouthwash Motorsport
    wire speakers into the TV outputs.

    you could get an HDMI switcher box if need be
     
  3. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    The HTX22 has a built in switchbox.
     
  4. mace¬

    mace¬ ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,954
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Clio
    So I plug the Blu Ray and Tivo into the speakers and then the speakers into the TV?

    I really don't understand it all.
     
  5. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    Simples!

    One HDMI out, 3 in.

    macehelp.JPG
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  6. Goodj

    Goodj

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Location:
    Ely
    Car:
    Mouthwash Motorsport
    Every time I see how cheap 32" LCD's are now I wail about how much my Bravia was when I got it.

    Then I notice that they have sod all connectivity and feel boss. V+HD, PS3, and Laptop all hooked up with a spare still begging. Probably use that for the slingbox one day, when I can be bothered.

    Now you're lucky if you get 2! Weak.
     
  7. mace¬

    mace¬ ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,954
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Clio
    Oh right, simple. So do I need to have the speakers switched on any time I want the TV on? So I'll just have the power cord and a HDMI cable going to the TV if I get a HDMI cable for the Xbox.
     
  8. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    Yup, all you need to do is connect the main unit to the TV with HDMI.

    Leave it on and switch inputs as you go.
     
  9. mace¬

    mace¬ ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,954
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Clio
    Awesome cheers. Time to order. The Mrs will kick my head in but who cares.
     
  10. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    Its either that or a new TV. This essentially saves you money by adding functionality to your TV.
     
  11. mace¬

    mace¬ ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,954
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Clio
  12. olliewebbuk

    olliewebbuk

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,883
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Car:
    SEAT Ibiza SC FR
    My under £400 40" Tesco TV is Full HD and has 4, count them, 4 HDMI ports.

    No need for more tbh.
     
  13. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    Why are you getting that? Just get an amp package.

    Similar price, but more speakers / connections.
     
  14. mace¬

    mace¬ ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,954
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Clio
    Because I know nothing about Home audio/cinema/tvs and things.

    I got a hole to fill and it fits! It makes noise, I don't want 5.1 as I can't be bothered to chase the walls out for the other speakers.

    What should I be getting?
     
  15. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    If you don't want 5.1, stick with that.

    Onkyo is a good brand, I have an Onkyo amp, sub and speakers.
     
  16. Goodj

    Goodj

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Location:
    Ely
    Car:
    Mouthwash Motorsport
    Quality British amplifier and Bookshelf speakers (if you can't use floorstanders).
     
  17. mace¬

    mace¬ ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,954
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Clio
    #

    Ahh cool. Ther reviews were all positive for it.

    i haven't got a bookshelf.
     
  18. Goodj

    Goodj

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Location:
    Ely
    Car:
    Mouthwash Motorsport
    Quite.

    It's a term for any speaker which isn't a floor-stander. Many can be wall mounted. Seems as if you're fuly sold on the Onkyo though.

    Nothing wrong with tham I'd imagine. Personally I steer clear of such all-in-one boxes, but if the shoe fits, wear it.
     
  19. mace¬

    mace¬ ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    4,954
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Clio
    Tbh, it gets good reviews, fits in the gap i had in mind and does what I need? What would you get for the same budget?
     
  20. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    Does 5.1! just needs another 3 speakers.

    Get it, its brilliant.
     
  21. Goodj

    Goodj

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Location:
    Ely
    Car:
    Mouthwash Motorsport
  22. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    Really? If anything that just creates issues.

    Its not a pure audio setup, its supposed to work with visual stuff too. The onyko also contains the processing for surround sound which that (im not knocking it, its a lovely amp) does not have.
     
  23. realnumber 1

    realnumber 1 ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,330
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Car:
    FF Bean
    Can't believe your going to all the effort of doing your room up and not making room for a full 5.1/7.1 setup...

    Imo you need a dedicated AV receiver and speakers.
     
  24. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    +1, especially if you plan on getting a£1,500 TV next year.

    I'd put my money into an amp, and a couple of speakers to begin with. Means you can pick and choose your sub in the future.
     
  25. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    lol. Mace, seriously. Ignore Donald trump and Alan Sugar. For what you want its perfect and great value for money.

    The Onyko allows for future expansion. so its all good.
     
  26. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    Unless you want to change the sub.
     
  27. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    Why would you want to do that?
     
  28. Goodj

    Goodj

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Location:
    Ely
    Car:
    Mouthwash Motorsport
    For mo' bass y0!

    #pffft

    Surround sound is for the needy anyway. Dolby 2.0 FTW
     
  29. olliewebbuk

    olliewebbuk

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,883
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    Car:
    SEAT Ibiza SC FR
    My mate has that Onkyo package and it is brilliant. I might invest in one myself.
     
  30. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    Why wouldn't you?
     
  31. Goodj

    Goodj

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Location:
    Ely
    Car:
    Mouthwash Motorsport
    Noise polution claims from neighbours
     
  32. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    Fair point.
     
  33. Norris_309

    Norris_309

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,060
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Pug 306DTurb & Golf GTTDI
    I'm glad this cropped up (as i'm so out of date with AV i don't know how it all plugs in now a days!!)
    After moving house a while ago, i'm just about to redecorate my lounge... my thinking is, a TV is part of the decor so my 'OLD' 28" hitachi LCD needs replacing. (i got a new small sony led for the bedroom, which is pretty good, so was thinking sony ex723??...

    But on hearing these new Thin LED tvs i was thinking i might need to hook up my old 5.1 system, but i'm now thinking times have changed so much i'll need to replace that too! I don't yet own/ need an HDMI cable!

    Problem now is the room layout (her decision) doesn't really fit well with a 5.1 sound set up, so i think a good 2.1 might be better.
    But i did spot http://www.richersounds.com/product/speaker-packages/yamaha/yht294/yama-yht294 anyone know if thats any good?
    Or after reading these comments (mainly Tom) i might opt for that 2.1 Onkyo set as that looks quite nice & takes up less space.

    Would a Wii connect to the Onkyo too as it's not HDMI?

    & possibly daft Question, say i wanted to watch a Bluray/play wii etc.. without the Onkyo switched on, would the sounds pass through to the tv speakers?? or does it need to be on all the time?
     
  34. Tom

    Tom ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    35,812
    A wii would connect fine.

    You would need to have the speakers on at all times.
     
  35. Goodj

    Goodj

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9,602
    Location:
    Ely
    Car:
    Mouthwash Motorsport
    hook TV into Amp directly.

    then whatever 2-channel (2.0 / 2.1) audio you get onto the screen, you can get out to the amp.
     
  36. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    ^ Looks pretty good.

    Can't see any mention of 1.4 for HDMI, but it says 3D ready, so must be 1.4. 120w per channel is good, more than enough. No Dolby HD (PS3/Bluray), but doesn't make a huge difference.

    I'm sure Tom will be along soon. :wink:
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2011
  37. Norris_309

    Norris_309

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,060
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Pug 306DTurb & Golf GTTDI
    Sorry for the daft questions & for hijacking Maces thread!, could you also plug an ipod/ipod dock into it? just thinking of things i might need before buying anything.
    So i suppose i'd want to connect, Bluray,Wii,xbox,ipod to the box.
     
  38. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    Just plug everything straight into the amp, then run a HDMI from the amp to the TV. Means the amp always has to be on, but there's no need to use the TV speakers (can safely say mine have never been tested).

    iPod, I did have a headphone jack running into the rear, before ATV.

    This is the rear of the Yamaha; http://www.technonet.lt/images/uploader/Yamaha-YHT-294b.jpg
     
  39. Norris_309

    Norris_309

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,060
    Location:
    Bristol
    Car:
    Pug 306DTurb & Golf GTTDI
    ^^ sorry i mean will all this plug into the Onyko 2.1 system, as i'm trying to decide between the 2.
    I gather the yamaha set up will connect everything to it, but wondering whether the onyko will too. (don't want to regret the decision!)

    Also, as my room layout isn't any good for the 5.1 really, didn't think there'd be much point putting it all in.
     
  40. C.J

    C.J ClioSport Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,990
    Car:
    Gangsta
    Yes the Onkyo in Mace's post will let you do the same, but there are less connections (e.g. no standard port for the Wii cables)

    Onkyo rear; http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-wjQvgYyvk...BvY/txvB3-U_1mk/s1600/Onkyo_HTX22HDX_rear.jpg
     

Share This Page