Change background image
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where is the heater blower motor located?

Discussion in 'Faults, Problems & Solutions' started by enomoosuit, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. enomoosuit

    enomoosuit

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Haydock
    Car:
    CLIO 172
    Hi Guys,

    Nearly 3 weeks ago now my rheostat stopped working on my 172 (2002).
    Fans were stuck on full speed, but I could change the temperature so it was something I could put up with until I got paid and was able buy a replacement.

    Last night i started the car and after 2 minutes of the fans being on the blowers packed up and I got a very nice burnt metal/plastic fragrance.

    I am hoping that this is the blower motor due to being contsantly on full power for 3 weeks (I have done nearly 1400miles since it broke).

    I have done the linking the 2 pins to make sure it is the rheostat and this worked before, but now I get nothing NO movement in the blowers if I try this. (heat still comes through tho and I can here the blower unit moving when I change to different vents.)

    Anyone else had this problem?
    Where is the blower motor located? Is it to the left of pollen filter under the scuttle panel? Anyone replaced one of these before?

    Any help would me much appreciated - dont want to take it to a stealership if I can swap the parts out myself. Hopefully it isnt something more sinister :weary: .

    Cheers
     
  2. Millsy

    Millsy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,143
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Car:
    A1
    the blower motor is located under the left handle scuttle panel if your standing in front of the car.

    takes a little while and a bit of head scratching but you can get it out, iirc just a few screws holding it in and an electrical plug.
     
  3. bmh.01

    bmh.01

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    11,940
    Location:
    Nuneaton
    Car:
    Audi S3
    A new blower is £130 plus the £100 for the speed control pack from the stealers. I'd have not used the blower until I could've changed it as its never going to be continuously rated, not at full speed anyway.
     
  4. Chris_Cliomk1

    Chris_Cliomk1

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,293
    Location:
    Southport / Preston, NW
    Car:
    Mk1 Maxim Sport
    Any reason u didnt just take the fuse out or ask this question when it got stuck so u could disconnect it and save the hassal of a new part??
     
  5. bmh.01

    bmh.01

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    11,940
    Location:
    Nuneaton
    Car:
    Audi S3
    Thats what I was thinking but too late now the damage is done.
     
  6. enomoosuit

    enomoosuit

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Haydock
    Car:
    CLIO 172
    I work nights mate and the weathers been s**t, so I was going to work at 2130 = steamy windows, coming home at 0530 steamy windows. I took the fuse out alot during the daytime, but to be honest when it was dark it was getting quite dangerous to be driving on the motorway with all my windows steamed.

    Whats this speed controller pack? I assumed that the speed of the fan this was controlled with the resistor/rheostat pack - is this correct?
     
  7. bmh.01

    bmh.01

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    11,940
    Location:
    Nuneaton
    Car:
    Audi S3
    No as it uses PWM to control the fan instead but it gives the same function.

    http://www.cliosport.net/forum/showthread.php?t=270620

    The speed controller is on the right of the picture it 5 wires going to it. The fan is the bottom left with the red plug on top of it, if you remove the splash guard you shuold be able to wiggle it out.
     
  8. enomoosuit

    enomoosuit

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Haydock
    Car:
    CLIO 172
    Now Im confused.

    Every other thread I have read on Cliosport has told me that the box on the right of the picture is the rheostat which controls the fans speed and temp - am I wrong? What is PWM? (did I mention my clio has CC?)
     
  9. bmh.01

    bmh.01

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    11,940
    Location:
    Nuneaton
    Car:
    Audi S3
    You can call it a rheostat if you want it doesn't matter, but it isn't a rheostat. Does the same job. The cars with normal heating used a normal rheostat but the CC'd cars use PWM instead, hence why you get 3 speed settings on a normal one and 8 on one with CC.

    PWM = Pulse Width Modulation, in this application its just another way of regulating the voltage and therefore the speed of the blower fan.

    Bad new they're £100 from renault for a new one, and the fan is more as I posted before.
     
  10. enomoosuit

    enomoosuit

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Haydock
    Car:
    CLIO 172
    Got me panicing them mate.

    Just sourced them from JustRenault breakers.

    Fan Motor £59.50
    PWM (or resistor pack / rheostat :wink: ) £47.50

    TOTAL £107!!!

    Both come with 90 days warranty. SWEET.

    Next day delivery free of charge. SWEETER.

    Now Ive just got to get that bloody fan motor off.
    Looks like a massive ball ache.

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  11. bmh.01

    bmh.01

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    11,940
    Location:
    Nuneaton
    Car:
    Audi S3
    Its not so bad, just a little fiddly thats all. Can't argue the price with warrenty.
     
  12. enomoosuit

    enomoosuit

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Haydock
    Car:
    CLIO 172
    You certainly cant argue, im thinking it might be too good to be true tho(knowing my luck with this car it probably is).

    You know how much a new clutch fitted and new engine and gearbox mounts fitted are likely to cost?

    Got the car on 22000 and its now on 87500 in 3 years and its still on the original clutch!! (although 85% of these miles are driven on motorways in 5th gear.)

    Still got no problems with it - but the bite is higher up the pedal than when I first got it. NEVER slips tho.

    Would like to get all the mounts done just to tighten everything up again. you know any prices?
     
  13. bmh.01

    bmh.01

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    11,940
    Location:
    Nuneaton
    Car:
    Audi S3
    Lots, don't bother changing it until it slips. Waste of money otherwise considering what it'll cost.

    Mounts wise I don't know, a few hundred including parts i'd have thought. Do everything myself so haven't got a clue on what garages charge.
     

Share This Page